St. Andrew’s traces its beginning to 1947 when Independent Presbyterian Church opened a kindergarten for four and five year olds. Over the years other grades were added and in 1978 the first and only class graduated from Independent Presbyterian Day School. St. Andrew’s considers the ten members of this class to be its first alumni.
During the 70’s, the church’s governing body had determined that the city was in need of another quality college preparatory school. Business leaders and parents worked together to secure a site for a new campus and to raise money for the buildings. It was decided that the school should be named St. Andrew’s on the Marsh to reflect a Scottish heritage and the island setting. The church agreed to relinquish the school so that it could become an independent, nonprofit institution governed by a board of trustees.
From its inception, St. Andrew’s has been a family oriented institution. In November of 1978, when the time came to move from the downtown location to Bell Hall and Compton Center on the new campus, students, faculty, parents and administrators did the actual moving. By 1986, the third building on campus, Skinner Hall, was opened following a successful capital campaign.
In 2002 the school purchased the adjoining property on the north side of Betz Creek, which had been the Islands YMCA. Following year-long renovations to the building, the doors opened on a brand new Early Childhood Center. And soon after, a first-class athletic field house complete with additional classroom space, was added to the school’s footprint.
Despite expanding facilities, programs, and technology, the fundamental principles of the school have remained unchanged. Our lower school inspires passionate learners, the middle school provides unique and diverse opportunities for all students, and the St. Andrew’s upper school encourages students to explore their interests and talents.